Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube Tumblr

Artadia Announces 2009 Boston Awardees


Artadia: The Fund for Art and Dialogue has announced the seven awardees for 2009 in Boston. The two awardees at the $15,000 level are Amie Siegel and Joe Zane; the five recipients of the $3,000 awards are: Claire Beckett, Ambreen Butt, Caleb Cole, Raul Gonzalez, and Eric Gottesman.

From the Artadia press release:

Applications for the Artadia Awards were open to visual artists in all media and at any stage of their career working and living in metro Boston. The application was available online for two months from April 15 – June 15, 2009. The three first-round jurors—Sanford Biggers (artist, New York), Dan Cameron (Founding Director, Chief Curator, Prospect New Orleans), and Randi Hopkins (Associate Curator, Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston)—reviewed 577 applications and selected the 15 finalists in New York in June.

For three consecutive days (July 29-Aug 1, 2009), three internationally prominent jurors— Peter Eleey (Visual Arts Curator, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis), Rita Gonzalez (Assistant Curator of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art), and Randi Hopkins (Associate Curator, Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston)—conducted studio visits with 15 short-listed artists drawn from nearly 600 applicants in the metro Boston area. This is Artadia’s second cycle in Boston following the inaugural awards cycle in 2007.

Congratulations to all of the winners!


About Author

Christian Holland is an aspiring New York City-based essayist who likes writing about how New York City isn't the center of the world. He was executive editor and founding contributor of Big, Red & Shiny, and sat on the publication's board for V2.

Comments are closed.